Dessert in Disguise

I have a soft spot in my heart for chocolate and I have passed on my love for chocolate to my sweet tooth little munchkins. However the problem more for me than them is to eat healthier and still get my daily dose of chocolate.

I discovered this first dessert in disguise from a girlfriend of mine. She makes the most amazing brownies and I couldn’t believe it when she told me she mixes a can of black bean into a box of brownie mix. I was shocked that something so good could be packed with so much fiber.
Fudgey Brownies
This recipe can be made gluten & dairy free depending on the mix that you use.
Ingredients:
1 Box of your favorite brownie mix
1 can of black beans 16oz rinsed and drained
1 cup of water
Directions:
  1. Puree black beans and water in blender or food processor.
  2. Add pureed black beans to brownie mix.
  3. Pour into pan and cook according to package directions.
Chocolate Banana Buttons
Ingredients:
Dark Chocolate (72%. I prefer Trader Joe’s brand.)
Bananas
1 tbs of Cinnamon
Directions:
  1. Cut up bananas into circles
  2. Melt dark chocolate and mix in cinnamon.
  3. Dip banana circles into chocolate let dry on wax paper.
  4. Put dry bananas into a freezer bag and pop into the freezer for a fun frozen treat.
  5. Optional: To make them look festive you can drip bananas into sprinkles to fit them into any occasion.
— Kim Fletcher, Parenting Program Volunteer

1 Response to “Dessert in Disguise”


  1. 1 Anonymous April 25, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Such great ideas! For the picky eaters…I love the disguise factor. Thanks, Kim!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,731 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


