A New Take on an Old Favorite

As busy parents we often get stuck in a rut of having the same thing every week. I feel like Monday is Taco Night, Tuesday is Sloppy Joes, Wednesday, whatever I can throw into the crockpot, etc.

I am always looking for ways to spruce up the old favorites into new favorites and when my friend, Marie, shared her Asian Sloppy Joes, I was drooling by the time I read the ingredients.
As I served them Thursday night, I was a little nervous on how the picky eaters would handle a change to their weekly routine, but was pleasantly surprised when they asked for seconds and my son William licked his plate. So in our books, this is a keeper! I hope you find it in your family rotation soon!
Asian Sloppy Joes
Makes 6 Sandwiches
Ingredients:
Vegetable oil (I used coconut oil and it tasted great!)
3/4 cup Onions and red pepper
1 package of ground turkey or chicken
1/2 bottle of peanut sauce
3/4 cup coleslaw
Buns (You can use mini buns for the fun factor!)

Directions:
  1. Heat the oil In a medium skillet.
  2. Add the onions and red pepper. Sauté until soft.
  3. Add turkey; cook, Stirring to break up turkey, until no longer pink.
  4. Add peanut sauce; simmer for 5 minutes, covered.
  5. Add the turkey mixture to the buns and top with the coleslaw.

— Kim Fletcher, Parenting Program Volunteer

2 Responses to “A New Take on an Old Favorite”


  1. 1 beth frydlewicz May 9, 2011 at 7:29 am

    My mouth is watering just looking at these pictures! I will make sure I have a good “licking” plate! THANKS!

  2. 2 Anonymous May 9, 2011 at 9:03 am

    This looks like a winner! I am definitely going to try this recipe. Thank you, Kim.


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,711 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


