Rooftop Garden

It is well known, that I have a brown thumb. For the past 5 years we have lived in our town home, my poor flowers have died within weeks of me planting them on my deck window boxes. I was determined to change that this year. Armed with a little help from MSU Garden exchange, my flowers & my lone urban tomato plant were going to survive.

My kids were excellent helpers in watering and my husband was waiting patiently for the first tomato off of our plant. Finally, last week we had 3 ripe tomatoes.

I was happy I proved my husband wrong. And my husband was happy the tomatoes were going into the BLTs that were for dinner that night.

Even though we don’t have a lot of land there is something satisfying about growing your own food. Plus, the tomatoes just taste better when they are picked right off our deck.

What is growing in your garden this summer? I hope you are having as much success as we are!

—Kim Fletcher, Parenting Program Volunteer

6 Responses to “Rooftop Garden”


  1. 1 Anonymous July 18, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    Ah, sweet success! Way to go Kim! I bet your BLT’s were delish. Besides my flower garden, I am growing some parsley, basil, dill, and rosemary. Fun for spicing things up. 🙂 Deanna

  2. 2 Anonymous July 19, 2011 at 9:22 am

    We love our garden! We doubled the size this summer & are already enjoying peppers, sugar snap peas, basil, cilantro,parsley, chives! Can’t wait for tomatoes and the biggest reward of all home-grown pumpkins for Halloween:) keep up the great work Kim! I always love your posts! -Nichole Enerson

  3. 3 Anonymous July 29, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    ahh – nothing like a tomatoe picked right from the vine. This article brings me back to the days of old when my father would ask me to help him pick beans, corn and tomatoes for dinner! Thanks Kim,
    love,
    Mom

  4. 4 v2 cigs September 29, 2013 at 10:08 am

    Fine way of explaining, and good piece of writing to take facts on the
    topic of my presentation focus, which i am going to deliver
    in college.


  1. 1 Easy Summer Dinner « Beaumont Parenting Program Trackback on July 25, 2011 at 7:33 am
  2. 2 Easy Breezy Caprese « Beaumont Parenting Program Trackback on November 7, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,729 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


