Cooking, Not Crafting For Me

There is a website out there filled with craft, home decor, and food inspiration. I find it to be more fascinating than any other site I have ever been on. There is always another idea to pin. Unfortunately, I was not born with the craft gene.
I tried a few of the crafts, but they didn’t turn out the as I had hoped. Still, I did get some good decor ideas for the next bridal shower I am hosting. One part of the site that is right up my alley is the recipes. Oh the recipes! We have had only one fail (boiling noodles in milk, not so much) and lots of new family favorites. I have brought the recipe below to a few parties in the last few weeks and it is the perfect blend of sweet, spicy, and salty. 
Bacon Wrapped Pretzels
(Recipe Courtesy of Creative Culinary)

Ingredients:
1 package of bacon – hickory, maple, etc.
2 cups brown sugar
3 Tbsp red chili powder
Pinch of cayenne pepper (more if you like a little bit of heat)
1 package pretzel rods

Directions:

  1. Break the pretzels in half for appetizer bites.  If you halve the pretzel, halve the bacon slices too.
  2. Mix the brown sugar, chili powder & cayenne together and spread out on a large flat dish.
  3. Coat each strip of bacon on both sides with the brown sugar mixture.
  4. Wrap the bacon around the pretzel.
  5. Place the pretzels on a wire rack placed on top of a baking sheet or roasting pan.
  6. Bake at 375 for about 10 minutes or until bacon cooks and appears crisp.
  7. Let cool on wire rack and rearrange occasionally while cooling so they don’t stick to rack. Do not put these on paper towels; they are sticky!
  8. Serve warm and enjoy!
–Kim Fletcher, Parenting Program Volunteer

1 Response to “Cooking, Not Crafting For Me”


  1. 1 Barbara | Creative Culinary October 3, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Oh Kim…I both thank you for loving this treat and encourage you to seek help if you find yourself making them more than three times a week. It could happen! The first time I made them I (shh, don’t tell) I ate so many of the ‘test’ batch that I had to do more for the actual company coming.

    Seriously…nothing makes me happier than someone trying something from my site and loving it. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,796 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


