The Surprising Delights of Having a Girl: A Dad’s Perspective

image credit: Josh Smith

I have to admit I was one of those guys who thought the only way I would relate with a child was doing boy things with a — boy. I think nearly every dad out there has thought of what it would be like to have a boy. Playing catch in the backyard, fixing the car, building stuff, etc. It’s just natural because that’s the way most of us guys are.

When we were expecting, I have to admit I was thinking of what it would be like to have a boy more than a girl, because it’s what I knew. Then the best thing that ever happened to me happened. We had a beautiful baby girl!

Having a girl is an amazing experience for a dad. There are so many unexpected things you get to enjoy, and struggle with for the first time.

Let’s talk about some of the fun stuff first; the clothes. As a dad you are thinking to yourself, “What is fun about the clothes?” Girls have so many more options than boys. The dresses, the jeans with sparkles, the princess outfits, the different styles of shoes, etc. The toys are also a nice surprise. The dolls, the Barbies, the my little ponies. Surprisingly varied and fun. The beautiful part of it all is that we also love to throw around the ball, and play cars as well.

My biggest struggle with a 6-year-old girl? My arch nemesis that I have yet to conquer over the years, the thing that I’m not sure I will ever be able to master… the dreaded ponytail. I would have never guessed the toughest part of raising a girl (to this point) is doing her hair! No matter how hard I try, the lump shows up, or the rogue chunk of hair slips out. Just when I think I’m getting better, the hairstyles change, and I have to learn a different way to do the hair. Game, set, match. Hair wins.

Still a ton to learn about having a girl, especially with the teenage years coming. But I’ll tell you what, having a girl was the best thing that ever happened to me. The first time it really hit me was the first daddy/daughter dance at school. I’ll call my shot now, I will be an absolute wreck on her wedding day. I better stock up on tissues.

Dads, what are some of the delightful surprises you’ve discovered about having a girl?

—Jason Pyciak, Parenting Program Volunteer

3 Responses to “The Surprising Delights of Having a Girl: A Dad’s Perspective”


  1. 1 Jeremy November 3, 2011 at 12:04 am

    Very nice post Jason, and I totally agree, for all the same a bunch more reasons. The one thing I’ll add is that my girls will do all the things I (mistakenly) thought would only interest boys… play with cars, climb, get dirty, work on the car with me, even ‘help’ paint the house. Likewise, I find myself totally infused into the ‘girl’ world I thought I’d never understand or relate to. Unexpected… for sure, but more wonderfu l than I would’ve ever guessed!

  2. 2 Anonymous November 3, 2011 at 7:40 am

    I LOVE this article!!!! Jason, thanks for sharing an intimate view on fathering girls. You rock! PS – Mastering ponytails take practice and perseverance. Don’t feel so bad, as captured in many photos …I was not able to conquer the perfect ponytail either. 🙂 Deanna

  3. 3 Eli November 6, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    What’s up every one, here every one is sharing such experience,
    so it’s nice to reazd this webpage, and I used to pay a quick visit this blog
    daily.


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,712 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


