Stuffed for Thanksgiving

In high school, I was really lucky, my best friend, Kim, was Canadian and I got to celebrate two Thanksgivings. The first Thanksgiving I sat with Kim’s family, they begged me to try the stuffing. Little did they know that I did not like stuffing. However, my mother told me never to be rude. So I took the smallest helping possible. Once I bit in to it, I was in foodie heaven for their stuffing had sausage and craisins. My brain forgot about my mother’s dry, breadcrumb stuffing and went on for a huge second helping. (Sorry, Mom! Mrs. F’s stuffing is just the best!)

I tried to recreate it years later at our college dorm recreation Thanksgiving and now I finally have the recipe down pat. So just in time for your own Thanksgiving table, here is my version of stuffing — the best stuffing ever in my opinion.

Best Stuffing Ever
Serves 12

Ingredients:
6 Cups of Bread toasted and cubed or left out over night. (My favorite to use is Italian Bread.)
1 cup of sausage (I have used both Italian sausage & turkey sausage)
2 shallots chopped
3 garlic cloves chopped
2 tsp of poultry seasoning
1/4 tsp of pepper
1 granny smith apple, chopped
2 cups of chicken broth
1 egg
1/2 cup of craisins

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375. Spray 9×13 pan with olive oil spray.
  2. Brown sausage in skillet on medium high.
  3. Add shallots and garlic to the cooked sausage. Cook about 4-5 minutes until tender.
  4. Add apples and craisins to mixture and cook for an additional 4 minutes.
  5. Combine egg and chicken broth together.
  6. Add bread cubes, egg & chicken broth, and the skillet mixture all together in a big bowl. Stir around until everything is evenly coated.
  7. Transfer to pan and cover with foil. Bake for 20 minutes and then take the foil off for 15 minutes.
  8. Enjoy!

I hope you have some tasty side dishes planned for your Thanksgiving dinner.

—Kim Fletcher, Parenting Program Volunteer

1 Response to “Stuffed for Thanksgiving”


  1. 1 Anonymous November 14, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    I will definitely be trying this recipe! Thanks, Kim!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,808 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


