Thanksgiving Traditions

image credit: FML Photo Design

Thanksgiving in our family is all about the 3 F’s: Family. Food. Football. One of the things I love most about Thanksgiving is tradition.

Every year, my husband and I alternate family houses. When it is my year, we go to my Aunt Lin’s. Her homemade German sausage trumps the turkey. When it is my husband’s family’s year, my mouth salivates over my mother-in-law’s Irish sausage rolls and her fried potatoes. And who can have Thanksgiving without a delicious pumpkin pie recipe? This one is courtesy of my friend, Dana.

Each Thanksgiving is different, but familiar, and tasty. I love passing down these traditions to my own children. And as they get older, I hope they look upon Thanksgiving and smile whenever they see a special food on their own Thanksgiving table. From our family to yours, we wish you a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever
Ingredients:
1 cup of pumpkin
1 cup sugar – ½ brown and ½ white
2 eggs (extra large)
½ cup milk
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp ground cloves
1 tbsp flour
½ tsp ginger
¼ tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
Triple the recipe for 2 pies

Directions:

  1. Blend all dry ingredients into the pumpkin first. Then add milk and beaten eggs last.
  2. Blend well and pour into pie crust(s).
  3. Bake 1 hour at 350 or until the knife comes out dry

What is your favorite Thanksgiving dish?

—Kim Fletcher, Parenting Program Volunteer

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving Traditions”


  1. 1 Anonymous November 21, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Oh Kim, this recipe sounds delish! Can’t wait to try your “best pumkin pie ever.” Thanks for sharing some of your family traditions with us. It’s those special gatherings that help create wonderful memories for all. Happy Thanksgiving! Deanna

  2. 2 Kim November 21, 2011 at 10:50 am

    I hope you enjoy it Deanna! My momalways bought baker square pies, this one is super easy & delish 🙂 happy thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,638 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


