Happy Hanukkah!

When my family moved from Ohio to upstate New York, my sister and I were devastated to leave our friends behind. The minute we moved in, a bubbly, curious neighbor bounced over and introduced herself as Lisa. She had a thick New York accent, loved the Yankees and had an infectious personality about her. Lisa and my sister hit it off right away, while I took awhile to come around. But once I did, Lisa and I spent nights bonding over scary movies, crazy boyfriends, and general teenage gossip and she became my other little sister.
Lisa opened up our world in so many ways and she was the first Jewish person, my sister and I met. While she shared her faith and customs, we shared ours. It was what being a family is all about. Lisa now lives in Jerusalem working with the Jewish Foundations of North America and my sister and I miss her dearly.
When I told her I was writing a post on Hanukkah and begged her for her famous latke recipe, she came through. So I hope you enjoy her recipe as much as our family enjoys them!
 
Sweet Potato Latkes
Ingredients:
2 large sweet potato, peeled and grated
1 onion, grated
2 eggs
1/4 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
Olive oil
1 cup applesauce
1 cup plain nonfat yogurt or sour cream
Directions:

  1. Grate the sweet potato and then use a sieve or strainer to press the water out of the sweet potato as much as you can. Grate the onion and mix with the sweet potato. Stir the eggs, flour and pepper into the mixture until well combined.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a nonstick skillet over medium heat until it shimmers, and spoon about 1/4 cup of the potato mixture per patty into the hot oil.
  3. Flatten the patties with a fork, and fry until golden brown and crisp on the bottom, 5 to 8 minutes. Flip and cook on the other side, sprinkle with salt,
  4. Top with either applesauce or yogurt/sour cream.

—Kim Fletcher, Parenting Program Volunteer

0 Responses to “Happy Hanukkah!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,657 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


