Our Many Colored Days

 

image credit: Neeta Lind

We loved books though I can only remember a few favorites: Mc Elligot’s Pool, One Fish Two Fish, Where the Wild Things Are. Then together we read The Search for Delicious one of our first chapter books. I remember my son Ryan’s first book report on My Brother Sam is Dead, a Revolutionary War story — 5th grade maybe? It had quite an impact on him and he was so proud of his paper and carefully drawn cover page.

I don’t recall too many books about feelings, except mother’s love. A favorite was Love You Forever. Though I couldn’t read it out loud without tearing up.

But if I were to do it over again our favorite family book would be My Many Colored Days by Dr. Suess.

Here’s what I imagine: reading it every day, eventually eliciting an excited response with the yellow “wheeeee I’m a busy, busy bee” page, and a scowl with the black day; “mad and loud I howl and growl at every cloud”. Or, a smile with happy pink; a day to “run and just not think”.

Then as they get older, I would start the day with the question, “What color will your day be today?” Then at dinner or bedtime, “What color was your day today?”

Of course, in a perfect world, it would spark a calm, open, moment of sharing. Parent and child would end the day in harmony and all would be right with the world…….hmmm. Yikes! Wake up Betsy!!!

Well, it’s still a great book. I always read it at my groups. Babies are entertained and grown ups reflect on their day.

— Betsy Clancy MA, LPC, Beaumont Parenting Program, Group Coordinator

1 Response to “Our Many Colored Days”


  1. 1 Anonymous March 29, 2012 at 10:16 am

    Oh Betsy, you nailed it! There is nothing like sitting with a child /children and watching their faces change with excitement or intrigue as you turn each page. Thanks for the reminder to take the time each and everyday and read a book together. 🙂 Deanna


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,638 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


