My “Eggslent” Adventure

Confession time. Even though I am a pretty good cook and have very few failures, there is one thing I can not do. I was not able to do it in Junior High HomeEconomics, in college as an activity with my friends or even for my own family. I have tried my mom’s recipe, a few off the Internet and a supposedly fool proof recipe from a friend. I, Kimberly Fletcher, cannot hard boil an egg to save my life.
We have been dying eggs for six years as a family and no matter what method I try, my eggs turn out runny. This year I even let them sit in the hot water longer (okay I forgot they were on the stove and I was folding laundry), but still I cracked into one and the ooze was all over the counter.
 
Still, I think our pretty runny eggs are — pretty. Don’t you think?
Enjoy your spring break readers! And may you have more success in hard boiling your eggs than I did. If you have the secret to making the perfect hard boiled easy, please do share.
—Kim Fletcher, Parenting Program Volunteer

4 Responses to “My “Eggslent” Adventure”


  1. 1 Anonymous April 2, 2012 at 8:12 am

    They look beuuutiful, Kim. Most important is the fun you had decorating them. 🙂

  2. 2 Lauren April 2, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I have a hard time too! The best method I found is place eggs in cold water, do not add salt. Place pot on stove and bring to boil (not a rapid boil). Remove eggs from heat after a boil is reached and cover with a tight fitting lid. Let eggs sit for 18-20min and your done. Now I cheat a little and use an egg timer. It’s a plastic shaped egg that turns purple as the eggs cook. When the color purple colors the indicator that says hard you’re done. It has markings for soft, medium and hard boiled eggs. It works great. Good luck! Also make sure your eggs are at least a week old. Fresh eggs don’t work for hard boiling.

  3. 3 cbibbs April 2, 2012 at 10:28 am

    Use the oven. Bake them at 325F for 30 minutes. Less guess work and consistent results.

  4. 4 Kim April 11, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Thanks for the responses!! I will try both methods to make egg salad!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,712 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


