Who Knew You Could Worry So Much?

As the saying goes, opinions are like ____, everyone has one. One you announce you’re pregnant, no phrase seems to be more true. As a mom you suddenly find yourself worrying about and questioning EVERYTHING!  Should I remove the bumpers from the crib?  Should I use organic milk? What if I can’t nurse until 12 months?  Why isn’t he sleeping through the night when her son, who is the same age, is?  Is this pediatrician the “right” one?  Day care or nanny?  Day care.  No, nanny. No, day care.  How much TV is too much?  Am I reading enough to my child?  Is ballet and swimming too much? Should I enroll her in swimming before 1 year?  Private or public school?  The list goes on and on.
Of course you want input and support. But every time you ask someone different their opinion you get a different opinion and sometimes more information than you need. If you’re like me, at some point in time you become completely overwhelmed and almost paralyzed.
I’m going through this now trying to decide on kindergarten. It’s kindergarten for crying out loud, not college! Yet I don’t sleep, am constantly thinking about this and am making myself physically sick. I know of five other moms in the same boat as we all have children the same age.
I’ve finally decided to ask the opinions of three people I trust emphatically. Then I trust my gut that I’m making the right choice and then let it be. You know what? As soon as I let go of my obsession, I felt better and ironically everything seems to be falling in to place.
Parenting is hard! Instantaneous access to information is a blessing and a disguise. We all want the very best for our children and sometimes the answers to our questions aren’t black or white.  At the end of the day no one knows your child better than you do. So what I’ve learned is to trust my gut, pray (if you’re into that) and hope.
I still remember my OB telling me that happy moms make happy babies. If we don’t wig out and are happy, maybe we’ll pass that happiness along. That’s really all we can do.
— Sara Locricchio, Parenting Program Volunteer

1 Response to “Who Knew You Could Worry So Much?”


  1. 1 Kim April 11, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    Ugh, I can completely relate. Last year our decision was to redshirt or not redshirt, this year it was what school?!? We ended up with what we thought was the best decision for her. Best of luck!!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,616 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards

Join Our Community


