What Kind of Friends You Hope Your Children Will Make

image credit: Harris County Public Library

We all have the one (or maybe more) friend that we’ve known forever, trust emphatically and can be 100 percent ourself around.  She’s the one you can tell your deepest darkest secret without judgement and the one that will tell you when you’re wrong — point blank.  I have one and my life wouldn’t be the same without her.  I also have different small groups of friends that I cherish.  I want my daughter to have the same thing.  As she enters kindergarten this fall I worry that a) she won’t find a best friend  b) there will be “mean girls” or  c) she’ll befriend children I don’t like.
I’m sure many of you have the same worries.  I know we have to let these kids go and find their way in the world, but I can’t say I’m thrilled with the ways of the world these days.  I’ve seen a lot of obnoxious children who as it turns out have equally obnoxious parents, or parents who have appeared to have just given up.  No it’s not okay to disrespect an adult.  Having a temper tantrum will not get you that toy at Target.  Not wanting to wear goggles at swimming lessons doesn’t mean your mother will bribe you with a trip to Somerset to do so! (Yes, I saw this happen.  This is worth another post on parenting at a later date.)
Currently my daugheter’s two best friends from pre-school are  the sweetest, most polite, funniest children I’ve met.  Not ironically, I love their parents.  But these “three muskateers” about about to go their separate ways in the fall and I’m heart broken.  I know they’ll remain friends, but new ones will enter the picture.
I hope that Maggie will find like-minded friends at her new school and that we’ve taught her the qualities of what makes someone a nice friend.  She’s pretty insightful and has little tolerance for things she doesn’t like.  So we’ll see.  If you have similar worries or an experience to share, please do!
— Sara Locricchio, Parenting Program Volunteer

0 Responses to “What Kind of Friends You Hope Your Children Will Make”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,616 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards

Join Our Community


