My Mother’s Child

I remember wondering where my mom was going some nights when I was in middle/high school. She’d tell me, “I’m going to teach new parents how to take care of their children.” While I didn’t give her statement much thought back then, I find myself now, thirty years later, telling the exact same thing to my own children.

My own mother volunteered her time to visit new parents in their homes, to answer questions, and to disseminate information from the Beaumont Parenting Program (not sure it was even called that at its inception). In my teenage mind, I imagined her teaching parents how to diaper, swaddle, and hold their newborn babies.

When I gave birth to my first daughter almost nine years ago, I was assigned a “baby group.” It was a wonderful resource for information and introduced me to other moms with babies the same age, a “peer” group (for both of us), if you will. I loved the experience so much that I volunteered to lead groups with my second and third daughters, giving them a small group of playmates as well. When our fourth daughter was born I became a group speaker as it better fit my busy schedule.

One of the things I love about the Parenting Program are all the different opportunities available to fit the needs of the volunteer. It wasn’t until a few years after I started volunteering that my mom mentioned the Beaumont Parenting Program was the same organization she had volunteered with all those years ago. It clicked…”Like mother, like daughter.” Now, when I tell my girls, “I’m going to teach new parents how to take care of their children” as I walk out the door, I wonder if in thirty years they will find themselves volunteering to do the very same. Like grandmother, like mother, like daughter! Thank you to the Beaumont Parenting Program for all that you do and for offering families this wonderful resource ALL THESE YEARS! I hope that my children’s children will benefit too.

–Allison DeCapite, Beaumont Parenting Program Group Speaker; Daughter of Carol Ordona; Mother of Adella, Mia, Liliana, and Lucy DeCapite

3 Responses to “My Mother’s Child”


  1. 1 Anonymous October 5, 2012 at 11:03 am

    What a beautiful gift to pass on from generation to generation! Thanks, Allison for all that you give! :)Deanna

  2. 3 Anonymous October 8, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Allison, What a beautiful story and what a great role model your Mom has been and now you are for your girls!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,616 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards

Join Our Community


