11 Things I Wish Every Parent Knew

IMG_0075

When I read this article by Dr. Stephen Cowan for the first time I thought, “WOW! What great advice for parents of babies and toddlers!” As a childbirth educator and former pediatric nurse, these thoughts are what I have tried to teach and share with the many parents that I have had the privilege of working with and caring for. For this age group I especially like “Trust yourself: You’re the expert on your child”.

Then I shared the article with some friends. A neighbor who is an elementary school teacher said, “WOW! This is what I am trying to convey to the parents of my students!” She especially liked “Growth and development is not a race”. This is very evident in the school age child.

Another friend, who is a high school teach said, “WOW! So much of this applies to parenting and working with teens!” She really liked “Take the long view”, when dealing with the joys and challenges of adolescence.

I read the article again through my eyes as the mom of young adults and I said, “WOW! This applies to parenting college students and young adults starting their careers.” I especially like “The secret of life is letting go”. College and first careers are certainly a time of great growth and letting go for all.

I suggest that you read the article and see how it applies to your age child…then read it again in a few years to continue to see the wisdom in the 11 things.

How do the “11 Things that I Wish Every Parent Knew” apply to you and your age child?

– Mary Anne Kenerson RN, Coordinator, Community Health Education and Intrinsic Coach for Beaumont Health System

3 Responses to “11 Things I Wish Every Parent Knew”


  1. 1 Anonymous August 7, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    LOVE this article, Mary Anne! I even printed a copy to keep as a reminder. Thank you for passing it along!

  2. 2 Janet Dubac August 8, 2013 at 9:14 am

    Thank you for sharing this awesome post and also for the link as well. I’m looking forward to learning new things in the article. I will definitely find time to read it. I want the “WOW” experience. 🙂

  3. 3 Dianna September 10, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    There is definately a lot to find out about this subject.
    I like all of the points you’ve made.


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,747 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


