So, Your Baby Is Going To Kindergarten This Year….Mine Too

newborn 

It’s sounds so cliché, yet it is so true. The time has just flown by. I can’t believe my little boy, my baby, the last one, is going to kindergarten. I’ve done this before….I’ve sent a child off to school for the first time. And although some of the fears I had the first time around are not as prominent as they were, the emotions of the milestone are still there.

It was only a few years ago that he was the little brother in the pictures on his sister Cassie’s first day of kindergarten.

bigsisterandlittlebrother

My Connor, my sweet brown eyed boy, the baby who loved to be swaddled, the one who I carried around as a toddler, far longer than he needed to be carried (he let me, I think he knew I needed him to stay little, just a little longer). My silly, kind boy who is always there to help a friend or to encourage a peer who is feeling shy, or scared to try something new. My boy who sometimes gets frustrated when he is explaining something and others don’t seem to understand. He’s ready, he’s excited, and I find as the day approaches I am less concerned about how fast he identifies his numbers, letters, colors, and shapes, and more focused on my sincere hope that his teacher, whoever they may be, will see and love the traits that make my boy unique and special, that Connor will make great friendships, and be a friend to those who are having a difficult time with the adjustment, that he will have fun at school, and look forward to going each morning and return home with a smile on his face.


momandson

 

It’s a big milestone for sure. For parents and kids, there may be tears (most likely from me), and sadness that he’s really growing up. But there is also so much look forward to in the years to come. So, I will carefully choose the first day outfit, pack the lunch with a special treat and note, gather the suggested supplies and lay out the backpack. I will be sure to have my dark sunglasses on to hide my tears and I will take his hand and walk him the bus stop. I will watch his little feet step up that big step and look to be sure he finds a seat and I will smile and wave. I won’t forget the day just as I have not forgotten how I felt the first time I saw him.

Connor, Con Man, Con Con, My Connor, Mama loves you so much have a great day Big Kindergartner!!!

growingboy

Are you sending a kindergartner off to school this year? Tell us about them and how are YOU feeling?

 

 – Kelly C. Ryan, LMSWPostpartum Adjustment Coordinator

 

3 Responses to “So, Your Baby Is Going To Kindergarten This Year….Mine Too”


  1. 1 Andrea o'hanlon August 29, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    This morning, my two beautiful premature babies went off to Kindergarden. I wish I could say they wanted to stay with me and not go, or that they ran and gave me sweet kisses, but honestly they were so excited about their new big girl Kindergarden class that they ran to their desks and forgot all about the kisses. It was me who stood there i awe of how much they have grown from my sweet little babies who needed to eat every 45 minutes in the NICU to two happy little ladies excited to learn about God and learn to read! My heart was so full as I waved goodbye, took way too many pictures, and walked down the hallway with tears rolling down my cheaks knowing that me and my buddies will be growing up from here on out. My buddies who have never left my side, including when I needed to use the bathroom. I will miss the little years of hanging out at the grocery store, where a surprise donut made me the coolest mom ever, and having my girls safe in my home was my blessing in teaching them to be good children. My heart was very full as I cried all the way home, while my husband made fun of me because I would be picking them backup in 3 hours because the first day was a half day. My thankful heart will never be able to tell a god how much I am honored that he let me raise His children up to this point and my determination to keep raising them to love Him and become the peopleHe created them to be. So I wipe my tears away and will always be thankful for the full and happy heart that God gave me 5 years ago when I became a mom of beautiful twin girls who have so much fun and excitement ahead. My one daughter Amelia said it best “you can cry a little bit mom, but only for a little bit ok?”….:)

    • 2 Kelly Ryan August 29, 2013 at 2:30 pm

      Such beautiful words Andrea 🙂 What a compliment to you that they were so ready for their big day. Sending you a big hug as you watch them fly. XOXO-Kelly

  2. 3 Anonymous August 29, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Melts my heart! In what seems like a blink of an eye…the day arrives to send them off to Kindergarten. It is such a special time of letting go. For those who have been there…every mom and dad remembers that very last wave before entering the school or climbing up the bus steps. Kelly, thanks for sharing the many smiles of your baby, Connor!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,712 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


