How To Not Prepare for the First Day

bigbrothersfirstdayLast week I felt like a terrible mother. Extreme, I know, but the guilt came over me. You see, I hadn’t done anything to prepare my kids for the first day of school.

Last June I had good intentions. I already had my soon-to-be (now) first-grader’s teacher assignment. I knew what children would be in his class. I knew the teacher’s website and I knew I had to email her with my preferred email so she could add all the parents to one distribution list.

But summer came. We got busy. I got sidetracked. I got lazy. Er, lazy about preparing that is. Did I mention we were busy?

I never emailed his teacher. I didn’t check her website for the supply list. I didn’t go school shopping for a nice new first-day outfit. I failed to schedule a hair cut or physical for my son. And it would be the first time ever at school for my 2 and 1/2-year-old. I intended to take him for a couple visits so the first day, week, month wouldn’t be so traumatic. I didn’t start making my kids go to bed early and waking them up early to get them on a school schedule either. Well, I tried a little. But again we were busy every night enjoying the long summer nights and frankly I enjoyed that I got a little peace and quiet to work every morning while they slept in.

Then it all hit me on Friday — four days before school would start, three shopping days really — that we weren’t prepared at all. So we shopped the picked over aisles of Target for school supplies, guessing on a couple of items because we were out of time to email his teacher. Then I enjoyed the rest of the long holiday weekend with my two growing boys.

Last night I sorted through shirt after shirt to find one without stains or missing buttons that would be suitable for a first day. I bathed them, read them only one story and tucked them in half an hour earlier than usual. Then I went back up a few minutes later by request to rub their heads until they fell asleep.

selfie

Was I prepared for today? Kind of. Not really.

Did I get him to school on time and with a smile? Yes.

Did he have a fabulous first day of First grade? Absolutely.

—Sarah Jo Sautter, Parenting Program Blog Publisher and Editor

3 Responses to “How To Not Prepare for the First Day”


  1. 1 Http://Controlandopeso.Tumblr.Com/ December 12, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    Hello There. I founԁ your weblog the use off msn.
    This iss an extremely neаtly ωritten articlе. I’ll make ѕure to bookmark it аnd гeturn to
    learn moгe of your useful info. Thank you for the post.
    I will definitеly return.

  2. 2 emagrecendorapido.tumblr.com December 12, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    Тhanks for sharing your thoughts. Ι truly appreciate your
    efforts aand I will be waiting for your next ωrite ups thanks once again.

  3. 3 dietasmilagrosas.over-blog.com January 11, 2014 at 2:30 am

    Good info. Lucky me Ι recently found уour
    site by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve saved as a favorite for later!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,712 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


