101 Ways to Praise a Child

praisestickers

I have been reading the wonderful posts the past few weeks on preparing children and parents for back to school. They have been packed with great advice for most any age child. This led me to the thought of how important it is to be positive with children especially when they are experiencing new and exciting challenges. As is often the case one thought leads to another and I thought of a favorite handout used in our Big Brother Big Sister class, “101 Ways to Praise a Child”.

As you read through these phrases, think about how you may use some of them when sending your child to school or welcoming them home. They may help to promote positive feelings during the adjustments that a new school year brings.

  1. Wow
  2. Dynamite
  3. You are fun
  4. Way to go
  5. You’re beautiful
  6. You’re growing up
  7. Super
  8. You’re unique
  9. You tried hard
  10. You’re special
  11. Nothing can stop you now
  12. You care
  13. Outstanding
  14. Good for you
  15. Beautiful sharing
  16. Excellent
  17. I like you
  18. Outstanding performance
  19. Great
  20. You’re a winner
  21. You’re a good friend
  22. Good
  23. Remarkable job
  24. I trust you
  25. Neat
  26. Beautiful work
  27. You’re important
  28. Well done
  29. Spectacular
  30. You mean a lot to me
  31. Remarkable
  32. You’re spectacular
  33. You make me happy
  34. I knew you could do it
  35. You discovered the secret
  36. You belong
  37. I’m proud of you
  38. You figured it out
  39. You’ve got a friend
  40. Fantastic
  41. Fantastic job
  42. You make me laugh
  43. Super star
  44. Hip, hip hurray
  45. You brighten my day
  46. Nice work
  47. Bingo
  48. I respect you
  49. Looking good
  50. Magnificent
  51. You mean the world to me
  52. You’re on top of it
  53. Marvelous
  54. That’s correct
  55. Beautiful
  56. Terrific
  57. You’re a joy
  58. Now you’re flying
  59. You’re important
  60. You’re a treasure
  61. You’re catching on
  62. Phenomenal
  63. You’re wonderful
  64. Now you’ve got it
  65. You’re sensational
  66. You’re perfect
  67. You’re incredible
  68. Super work
  69. Awesome
  70. Bravo
  71. Creative job
  72. A+ job
  73. You’re fantastic
  74. Super job
  75. You’re A-OK
  76. Hurray for you!
  77. Fantastic job
  78. My buddy
  79. You’re on target
  80. Exceptional performance
  81. You made my day
  82. You’re on your way
  83. You’re a real trooper
  84. That’s the best
  85. How nice
  86. You are responsible
  87. How smart
  88. You are exciting
  89. Good job
  90. You learned it right
  91. That’s incredible
  92. What an imagination
  93. Hot dog
  94. What a good listener
  95. Great start
  96. You are a gift
  97. Love how you did that
  98. A big hug
  99. A big kiss
  100. Say I love you!
  101. Remember a smile is worth 1000 words

—Mary Anne Kenerson, RN and Intrinsic Coach, Beaumont Health System

4 Responses to “101 Ways to Praise a Child”


  1. 1 Anonymous September 6, 2013 at 11:01 am

    Love this!!! Thank you, Mary Anne!

  2. 2 Home Cash Package September 6, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    I’ll right away seize your rss feed as I can’t to find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.

    Do you’ve any? Please permit me recognise so that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

  3. 3 training November 14, 2013 at 1:50 am

    I appreciate, cause I discovered just what I was having a
    look for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless
    you man. Have a great day. Bye


  1. 1 Are You Using the Right Words When You Praise Your Child? | Beaumont Parenting Program Trackback on October 28, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,653 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


