Books, Books, Everywhere!

Madeline reading Chicka Chicka Boom Boom

I don’t know about your house, but mine has books all over it. They’re under the tables, in the bedrooms, in the diaper bag, the closet, the bookshelf and they’re in that bucket that sits in the corner of the living room because it’s too heavy to move.

I love that my kids love to read with us. We used to do “Books on a Blanket” in the evenings. I’d spread a fleece blanket on the floor and tell the kids to go get three books. They’d come back with armloads and we’d read all of them. With one twin sitting on my lap and the other sitting on my husband’s lap, we’d each read different stories. Until one twin got interested in what the other was reading and strayed to greener pastures.

But we don’t do that anymore. It’s too structured. I like watching the frenzy that happens when we declare, “Reading time!” and the kids hustle off to get every book possible because we don’t want to miss a single one. We have to make sure Chicka Chicka Boom Boom ends at the top of the coconut tree, just as it always does.

I’m an avid reader myself. As a kid I remember reading under my blankets at night with a nightlight and taking a book outside for recess. I loved the Little House on the Prairie series, the Chronicles of Narnia, the Baby-Sitters Club, Sweet Valley High and anything Judy Blume. It’s probably why I became a writer.

It’s nice to have something in common with my kids. Even though they’re 2 and I’m — ahem — not, we all love to read. Sure, we don’t get as much fulfillment out of each other’s book choices, but that’s OK. Reading is reading. It’s good for us.

Maybe tonight instead of watching Barney we’ll have a barnyard dance then we’ll hop on pop and say good night moon.

What are your favorite children’s books?

– Rebecca Calappi, Publications Coordinator at Beaumont Health System and adoptive parent of multiples

3 Responses to “Books, Books, Everywhere!”


  1. 1 Anonymous March 21, 2014 at 10:40 am

    My kids loved Chicka Chicka Boom too.

  2. 2 Anonymous March 21, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    Rebecca, I love that you are making reading such a fun part of each day! Your passion and joy of books will be passed on, along with so many great memories. Enjoy!

  3. 3 Carrie Burgan (@thegirlburgan) March 21, 2014 at 9:17 pm

    Haha. You said “Barnyard Dance” and I started singing “With an oink, and a moo, and a cock-a-doodle-doo!” I love anything Sandra Boynton. My son LOVES “Snuggle Puppy”. He also loves “I Love You Through and Through”.


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,711 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


