A Mother’s Day Perspective from a Dad

Lots of hearts

image credit: openclipart.org

Leading up to Mother’s Day, one little event made me realize how important a mom is in the life of a child: getting my daughter ready for her dance recital dress rehearsal. Exhibit A: Costume pants went on backwards. Exhibit B: Low side ponytails? I have enough trouble with one, single ponytail. Exhibit C: Stage make-up. OK, I was able to escape the last one because my sister-in-law was at the rehearsal. Even though I’m a very involved dad, there are a few things we just don’t have the same experience with.

Mother’s Day is the one day I don’t even dare plan something for me. Not because I can’t, but because I know that day is all about Mom—my wife and my mom. For us it’s all about pampering and doing exactly what Mom wants to do… even if that is nothing. My wife is constantly on the go every day, every week. This is the one day I make sure she doesn’t lift a finger (if I can stop her that is).

– Jason Pyciak, Parenting Program volunteer

1 Response to “A Mother’s Day Perspective from a Dad”


  1. 1 Anonymous May 8, 2014 at 9:18 am

    Jason, you are spot on with your perspective! Thank you for taking the time to share your insight and thoughtful appreciation for Mother’s Day. Special kudos to you for being such a great dad, son and husband. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,712 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


