Hold Daddy’s Hand

Father and daughter holding hands

Cropped image. Spirit-Fire, CC License.

I have a confession to make: I hate bridges! That’s right, the necessary evil of the highways and byways. My extreme dislike (I forgot…hate is a four-letter word in our house…but I digress) started when I was about 5 or 6 years old on a family trip to Greenfield Village.

My oh-so-loving big sister thought it’d be funny to pretend to “fall through” a wooden bridge they have at the village. She, and my eventual stepsister, kept putting on a show and made the bridge shake as they jumped up and down. That episode planted a seed for my disdain for anything that didn’t have soil directly underneath it.

Fast-forward a couple of decades to my first trip north to meet my future in-laws. The only thing that stood between me and meeting my future wife’s family was the Zilwaukee Bridge. The same bridge that nearly collapsed during construction…the same bridge that feels like you’re climbing stairs and not driving on a stable structure. Luckily somehow I was able to make it over and have been happily married for nearly nine years (no thanks to my sisters).

My feelings about bridges have been a running family joke for years, but just ask my white knuckles if I’m joking. My wife and I were blessed with two kind-hearted girls; how do we know that we’re raising them right? As we get closer to the dreaded Zilwaukee Bridge, both Abby (our oldest) and Maddy (our little dare-devil) offer to hold my hand!

So if you’re ever next to a vehicle just north of Bridgeport on I-75, and you see a grown man twisted around to hold two little hands, smile knowing that he’ll be just fine in a mile or so.

– Jim Pesta, Parenting Program participant and father of two girls

1 Response to “Hold Daddy’s Hand”


  1. 1 Lori Polakowski July 29, 2014 at 10:32 am

    I hate that bridge too!! Always stay in the center lane. Wait until your daughters are teenagers and one of them mistakenly navigates you across something like the Ben Franklin bridge in Philadelphia. Only to have to come back across when you figure out Siri sent you the wrong way. 😦


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,654 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


