Meet the Parenting Program Staff: Michelle Enerson

Mom with daughter

Michelle Enerson is the NICU Program Coordinator for the Beaumont Parenting Program.

Where did you grow up?
Davenport, IA. Also known as the Quad Cities.

Tell us something about your family.
Dave and I have been married for 20 years. We have three children: Becca (17), Andrew (15), and Alena (8). Our kids have an age gap with the older two in high school and the youngest in elementary.

Sometimes it can be difficult picking activities to do. However, the older two have a very special relationship with the youngest — one that many families don’t have.

Why did you choose to be part of the Parenting Program?
It happened almost by accident. I was at a point in my career that I needed a “change”. Instead of continuing my clinical work, I knew I wanted a more educational role for the families that I worked with.

The BPP gave me the opportunity to stay with NICU families who I had grown to love and to continue working with them in a supporting educational role.

Who or what inspires you?
People who choose to make a difference in the world in a positive way. Their contributions, not necessarily money, may not seem powerful or influential but have somehow impacted my life or others. I’ve found that as I grow older, most times, I remember the “little, special things” that someone has done. And it makes me want to pass the feeling along to someone else!

What are your hobbies or special interests?
I love to knit, bake, read, hike and garden.

What’s your favorite family-friendly destination?
Tee Lake Resort near Lewiston, MI

What’s your favorite movie? Book?
Movie: While You Were Sleeping

Book: Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum Series for a lot of laughs. Also, The Hobbit by J.R.R.Tolkien for serious reading.

What’s your favorite meal?
My mom’s hamballs with green beans and garlic mashed potatoes.

What’s your favorite flavor of ice cream?
Hard to pick just one. My mom’s homemade vanilla ice cream is the best. But if that isn’t available, then Clark’s Cinnamon flavor comes in second.

Share something about you that might surprise us.
I’m really most comfortable in my jeans and t-shirt, and if I am at home…no shoes. 🙂

– Michelle Enerson is the NICU Program Coordinator for the Beaumont Parenting Program.

1 Response to “Meet the Parenting Program Staff: Michelle Enerson”


  1. 1 Anonymous March 4, 2015 at 8:21 am

    We love Michelle!


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,711 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


