Meet the Parenting Program Staff: Kelly Ryan

Mom, dad, son and daughter

Kelly Ryan, husband Chris and their two kids, Connor and Cassie

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Brighton, Mich.

Tell us something about your family.
My husband, Chris, and I met at Western Michigan University where we both did our undergrad. We will be married for 12 years in September and have two amazing children. Cassie is 9 and Connor is 7. We are all pretty silly and do a lot of laughing at our house. My favorite moments are when the four of us are just sitting around the dinner table talking.

Why did you choose to be part of the Parenting Program?
I had experienced the amazing support of the Parenting Program both personally and professionally, so when a position became available, I jumped at the opportunity. I received wonderfully supportive phone calls from the program after I delivered my first baby six weeks early, and then I was able to work closely with the Parenting Program while I was the social worker on the mother-baby floor.

It was easy to see that this program was something that is unique and special and I just wanted to be a part of it!

Who or what inspires you?
People inspire me big time. I am totally inspired by people who overcome obstacles against all odds.

What are your hobbies or special interests?
My most favorite thing to do is to watch my children doing things they love. I love nothing more than watching my daughter cheerleading or acting up on stage, and nothing compares to watching my son play football or basketball…even early on Saturday mornings 😉

What’s your favorite family-friendly destination?
Our family’s favorite place to getaway is South Haven, Mich. It’s our annual road trip adventure.

What’s your favorite movie?
My all-time favorite movie is “Good Will Hunting”. See, I told you people who overcome great obstacles inspire me 😉

What’s your favorite meal?
My Mom makes great pot roast and beef stew, can’t choose between those two. This Michigan girl likes meat and potatoes. 😉

What’s your favorite flavor of ice cream?
Graeter'sMy husband and I lived in Cincinnati for three years while he was in graduate school at Xavier University. We love that city, and one of our best discoveries during our time there was Graeter’s Ice Cream.
When we moved home we even ordered it to be delivered on dry ice … seriously, that good. A few years ago they started selling it here in Michigan (Kroger and Meijer have it); we were so happy! My favorite flavors of Graeter’s are Black Raspberry Chip and Double Chocolate Chip. You must try it!

Share something about you that might surprise us.
You may be surprised to know that I have made it my mission to perfect and make the best grilled cheese sandwiches and chocolate chip cookies in all the land. My kids and my husband think I’ve done it, and that’s all that matters to me

– Kelly Ryan, Postpartum Adjustment Coordinator with the Beaumont Parenting Program.

0 Responses to “Meet the Parenting Program Staff: Kelly Ryan”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,711 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


