Meet the Parenting Program Staff: Betsy Clancy

Mom with her grown sons

Betsy Clancy (center) is a Group Coordinator with the Parenting Program. Here she is with her sons and their girlfriends (L to R: Stef, Ryan, Erin, Sean)

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in northwest Detroit. I have three brothers, two older and one younger. I attended Immaculata High School, Henry Ford Community College and Western Michigan University.

Tell us something about your family.

I married Patrick 40 years this last May. I have two sons, ages 35 and 33.

Sean is a bass player with the band “Childbite” and Ryan is the drummer for the band “Jamaican Queens” They both tour very often and have been all over the country (including Alaska) and Europe. Both are passionate, hard working, and wish that music exclusively would pay their bills, but not yet!

Why did you choose to be part of the Parenting Program?

In 1995 I was working with my husband in our family-owned manufacturing business and felt the need to “add more meaning” to my life. I read an article in a local paper about the Parenting Program and thought it would be a good fit for me. I volunteered at Troy Beaumont doing hospital visits and IFS calls. I also led several single mothers groups.

Volunteering with the program was exactly what I needed in my life at the time and I was inspired and encouraged to return to school in 2000 to get a master’s degree in counseling. That same year, I was hired as a group coordinator. It’s been a true blessing to work here with families, volunteers and a great staff.

Who or what inspires you?

My mother has always inspired me with her strength and ability to see the good in everyone. She has endured great loss and sadness in her life. And now approaching 95 with severe dementia, her gentle nature, kindness and flirtatious humor still remain.

What are your hobbies or special interests?

I enjoy reading, cooking and bike riding. And I’m a rookie gardener.

What’s your favorite movie? Book?

Some of my favorite movies (in no particular order): The Abyss, Witness, Fools Rush In, Good Will Hunting, Wizard of Oz, Christmas Vacation, Prince of Tides.

As for books, some of recent favorites are Let Him Go by Larry Watson, The Sandalwood Tree by Elle Newmark, All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr and The Light Between Oceans by ML Stedman. Old favorites: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith, The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger and Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri.

What’s your favorite meal?

Anything with tortellini and sun dried tomatoes. Red wine and chocolate.

What’s your favorite flavor of ice cream?

Peppermint Fudge Ribbon (I wish Baskin Robbins would bring this back.)

0 Responses to “Meet the Parenting Program Staff: Betsy Clancy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,808 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


