Caught in the act

Girl holding teddy bear peeking out from behind a tree

Well, it finally happened.

I suppose it happens to most of us at some point in the parenting life cycle. But I was really hoping it would be one of the “joys” I didn’t get to experience. You see, as a child, it never happened to me and if it did, I didn’t realize it so there were no lasting emotional scars.

My daughter wasn’t so lucky.

On a recent Saturday afternoon, my husband and I thought the kids were napping. We hadn’t heard stirring from either kids’ room in a while. We thought we were in the clear.

But we weren’t. And let me tell you, hearing a little voice say, “Mommy?” is on-par with being hit with a bucket of ice water.

“Mommy’s napping,” I said.

And then, with a lot of rustling and stifled laughter, we tucked her back in bed with very few awkward questions.

I don’t think we’re in the clear, though. This seems to be one of those golden moments in life that the kid will bring up at a very inopportune moment — like to the cashier at Target, or to a grandma, or to a teacher. Experience has taught me that my kids aren’t afraid to say anything. My son announced the way male and female anatomy are different while standing in a restaurant; my daughter recently told the lady at the bakery that she has an “itchy cutie patootie.”

Oh, no. Embarrassing, awkward situations aren’t over for me. They’re just starting.

0 Responses to “Caught in the act”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,796 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


