My new adventure starts now

person jumping over large gap

I turned 40 last year. I don’t know what clicked in my brain then, but something is giving me acne and the desire for more.

“More” is tough to explain because I’m not talking about material things. I want to enrich my life. It’s time to make changes.

The first thing I did was take two weeks off work. I needed to find out if this was feasible from a mental health standpoint — my mental health. Could I be a stay-at-home mom? Could I have all my focus on my kids and home? It’s a noble calling, but I never thought of it as mine.

But you know what? I liked it.

I liked having one less thing to stress about. I liked that my head was in the game, not half in, half out. I liked being able to keep the house in some semblance of order, not just spic-and-span on Sundays post binge-clean.

Stay-at-home moms are thinking, “Honey, two weeks won’t cut it.” I believe you. I do. But it was a good litmus test for me. I enjoyed my time and didn’t want to go back to my desk job. (Not that I don’t love you guys, I do.) I just didn’t feel fulfilled with it anymore. So, I did something completely out of character: I resigned.

I’m not going to kid myself and say the SAHM role is for me. I don’t think it is. So, in addition to my “enhanced mom” title, I’m going to write more and see what I can make of myself. I don’t want my kids to grow up thinking the “safe” way is the only way. They need to know that “smart jumps” are sometimes the only way to test your own limits and not doing something just because it’s new or scares you isn’t the right reason. It’s a lesson in calculated risks. And that’s a lesson worth learning.

When I became a mom five years ago, I would daydream about what I could do to make my kids proud of me. I hope this is the ticket.

– Rebecca Calappi is a publications coordinator at Beaumont Health and adoptive parent of multiples.

3 Responses to “My new adventure starts now”


  1. 1 Sarah March 23, 2017 at 9:21 am

    You’re rockin’ the mom thing. Hope you have fun and continue to blog.

  2. 2 Katie March 23, 2017 at 10:30 am

    Wow! Congratulations! I’m sure this was not an easy decision but you need to do what you feel is best for you and your family. As long as you follow your heart, your son and daughter will always be proud of you!

  3. 3 Anonymous March 24, 2017 at 9:25 am

    You go girl! How ahmazing! Congrats and cheers to all of our stay-at-home moms and dads.


Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,711 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


