The heart of a Parenting Program volunteer

Thank you

During National Volunteer Week, I am especially cognizant of the massive impact made by each of our volunteers. I am reminded that this program would not and could not exist without our team of volunteers. And if I am perfectly honest, I don’t need a nationally recognized proclamation to appreciate the efforts of our volunteers. I already have an immense amount of pride and sincere appreciation each and every time I see one of our volunteers giving dedicated time on the unit or helping out in our office.

I frequently leave a parent group setting on a utopic high. I’ve been known to drop a tear or two, when reading parent evaluations that highlight above and beyond volunteer support. I continue to be amazed by the many volunteers who come into the hospital on weekends and on holidays. One, in particular, has been doing it for more than 20 years. Beaumont senior leaders and administrators can attest to the fact that it is not uncommon for me to gush about our team of volunteers whenever and wherever I can. Yep, without reservation and quite unabashedly, I shout from the mountain tops on a regular basis that the Parenting Program unequivocally has the best of the best volunteers.

I could spend days on end sharing the many stories of extraordinary volunteers. And yes, I must admit, I have some favorites. But what I find most compelling, and perhaps even a phenomenon, is that our volunteers don’t wish to be acknowledged in front of a crowd or presented with a pin signifying years of service. In fact, most of our Parenting Program volunteers specifically verbalize that an award luncheon and monetary gifts are unnecessary.

So, what does that tell you about our amazing volunteers? Parenting Program volunteers give straight from the heart.

To all of our volunteers – I am grateful for the many lessons you have taught me and I am thankful for your passion, time and talents. With each family that you support, the ripple effect is monumental.

Happy National Volunteer Week!

– Deanna Robb, Beaumont Parenting Program Director

0 Responses to “The heart of a Parenting Program volunteer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Topics

Enter your email address and you'll receive notifications of new posts in your in-box.

Join 2,711 other followers

Free Developmental Screening

Confidential online developmental screening for children up to age 5

Awards


